About Us

J. Paul Jones Hospital is a not-for-profit organization that has been serving its surrounding community since 1957. A resolution was passed January 11th, 1954 by the Court of County Commissioners of Wilcox County to assist in the funding, construction, and operation of a public hospital under the provisions of the Hill-Burton Act, Public Law No. 725. On January 12th, 1956, the Town Council of Camden, AL adopted a resolution to establish The Wilcox Hospital Board. The facility was founded as Wilcox Memorial Hospital, a City-County hospital, built in Camden, Alabama, with the purpose of providing the highest quality of care available to the people of Wilcox County. On January 15th, 1973, the Board voted to change the name to J. Paul Jones Hospital in honor of Dr. J. Paul Jones, who provided medical care to the entire community and surrounding areas.

J. Paul Jones Hospital Facility

Fast forward to the present, our organization’s mission has remained the same, as we still strive each and every day to provide a broad-spectrum of inpatient and outpatient services to provide the best care for our patients. These services include; emergency care, acute inpatient care, swing bed rehabilitation, laboratory, radiology, ultrasonography, mammography, respiratory services, eight retirement apartments and two primary care clinics located in Camden and Pine Hill. In February of 2018, the J. Paul Jones Hospital Board also entered into a managerial agreement with UAB Health Systems, to strengthen our services and access of care for our community. With this agreement, these services and the help of a compassionate and highly trained staff, you can trust that the highest level of expertise and quality of care are available for you, right here, close to home.


Jessica C. McGraw, CEO/Administrator

Board Members

Dr. Sumpter D. Blackmon, Chairman

Mr. Dawson Smith, Vice Chairman, UAB Health System 

Mr. Donald McLeod, Attorney

Mr. George “G” Alford, III

Mr. Ralph Ervin

Sheriff Prince Arnold

Mr. A.L. Johnson, III

Mrs. Elizabeth M. Kennedy

Dr. William R. Phillippi

Dr. Andre’ Saulsberry 

Mrs. Jill Smith

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.